The COVID Kids project

During the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic in spring 2020, the research project “COVID Kids” on children’s well-being was conducted. The study explored the subjective well-being as well as stay-at-home experiences of children and adolescents aged 6 to 16 years in Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland and Brazil.

The research project COVID Kids used a mixed-method approach comprising a questionnaire and interviews. The anonymous questionnaire was online from the 6th May until the 14th July 2020 and was completed by 680 children in different countries.

The questionnaire focused on three broad sections:

  1. General information on the participants
  2. Life and school before the pandemic
  3. Their well-being is mainly related to the difficulty, quantity and content of school work during school closure, the fear of getting ill and the satisfaction with the way adults listen to children.

The interviews were carried out with 22 children aged 8-16 in Luxembourg.

Next to the key findings, the study gives some recommendations to improve children’s well-being and help minimise or even avoid long-term negative impacts on the physical and mental health of young people in the future.

BIEN-ÊTRE SUBJECTIF ET EXPÉRIENCES QUOTIDIENNES DES ENFANTS DE 6 À 16 ANS PENDANT LA PREMIÈRE VAGUE DE LA PANDÉMIE COVID-19 AU LUXEMBOURG
téléchargez le rapport

SUBJECTIVE WELL-BEING AND STAY-AT-HOME EXPERIENCES OF CHILDREN AGED 6-16 DURING THE FIRST WAVE OF THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC IN LUXEMBOURG
download the report

Children’s life satisfaction dropped significantly from 96% (before the pandemic) to 67% (during the pandemic)

The emotional well-being decreased, particularly among girls, older children and those from lower socioeconomic backgrounds.

Their well-being is mainly related to the difficulty, amount and content of schoolwork during school hours, the fear of getting ill in the pandemic and the satisfaction of how adults listen to children and young people.

Children missed their friends (37%) and family (37%) the most, when schools were closed and they had to stay at home

32% of children said that they were often worried that they or someone close to them would get sick

Children were way less “active” during the pandemic. 46% of secondary school students reported spending a lot of time “doing nothing”. Whereas 86% of primary school children said they often played and 69% often spent time outside, these numbers drop to 35% and 54%, respectively, for adolescents.

Le projet COVID Kids

Pendant la première vague de la pandémie COVID-19, un projet de recherche «COVID-Kids» a été mené, relatif au bien-être des enfants. L’étude a examiné le bien-être subjectif des enfants et les expériences quotidiennes des enfants âgés de 6 à 16 ans au Luxembourg.

Le projet de recherche COVID Kids a utilisé une approche de méthodes mixtes combinant un questionnaire et des entretiens. Le questionnaire anonyme a été en ligne du 6 mai au 14 juillet 2020 et a été rempli par 680 enfants de différents pays.

Le questionnaire s’est articulé autour de trois parties principales :

  1. Des informations générales sur les participants;
  2. La vie et l’école avant la pandémie;
  3. La vie et l’école pendant la pandémie.

Des entretiens ont été menés avec 22 enfants âgés de 8 à 16 ans au Luxembourg.

Outre les principales conclusions, l’étude fournit également quelques recommandations pour améliorer le bien-être des enfants et comment minimiser, voire éviter les effets négatifs à long terme sur la santé physique et mentale des jeunes.

BIEN-ÊTRE SUBJECTIF ET EXPÉRIENCES QUOTIDIENNES DES ENFANTS DE 6 À 16 ANS PENDANT LA PREMIÈRE VAGUE DE LA PANDÉMIE COVID-19 AU LUXEMBOURG
téléchargez le rapport

SUBJECTIVE WELL-BEING AND STAY-AT-HOME EXPERIENCES OF CHILDREN AGED 6-16 DURING THE FIRST WAVE OF THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC IN LUXEMBOURG
download the report

La satisfaction des enfants à l’égard de la vie a considérablement diminué de 96% (avant la pandémie) à 67% (pendant la pandémie).

Pendant la pandémie, le bien-être émotionnel s’est affaibli surtout pour les enfants plus âgés, ceux issus de milieux socio-économiques inférieurs. Même constat pour les filles.

Le bien-être subjectif dépend beaucoup de la difficulté, quantité et du contenu du travail scolaire pendant la fermeture de l’école; ainsi que la peur de tomber malade et la satisfaction de la manière dont les adultes écoutent les enfants.

Leurs amis (37%) et leur famille aussi 37%) ont manqué le plus aux enfants lors de la fermeture de l’école et du confinement.

32% des enfants ont indiqué de s’inquiéter souvent qu’eux-mêmes ou un de leurs proches pourraient tomber malades pendant la pandémie.

Les enfants ont été beaucoup moins «actifs» pendant la pandémie. 46% des élèves du secondaire ont indiqué souvent passer du temps à «ne rien faire». Même que 86% des enfants de l’école primaire ont indiqué jouer ou 69% passent aussi du temps à l’extérieur plus fréquemment, ce pourcentage diminue pour les adolescents à 35% ou 54%, respectivement.