The COVID Kids project

During the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic in spring 2020, the research project “COVID Kids” on children’s well-being was conducted. The study explored the subjective well-being as well as stay-at-home experiences of children and adolescents aged 6 to 16 years in Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland and Brazil.

The research project COVID Kids used a mixed-method approach comprising a questionnaire and interviews. The anonymous questionnaire was online from the 6th May until the 14th July 2020 and was completed by 680 children in different countries.

The questionnaire focused on three broad sections:

  1. General information on the participants
  2. Life and school before the pandemic
  3. Their well-being is mainly related to the difficulty, quantity and content of school work during school closure, the fear of getting ill and the satisfaction with the way adults listen to children.

The interviews were carried out with 22 children aged 8-16 in Luxembourg.

Next to the key findings, the study gives some recommendations to improve children’s well-being and help minimise or even avoid long-term negative impacts on the physical and mental health of young people in the future.

BIEN-ÊTRE SUBJECTIF ET EXPÉRIENCES QUOTIDIENNES DES ENFANTS DE 6 À 16 ANS PENDANT LA PREMIÈRE VAGUE DE LA PANDÉMIE COVID-19 AU LUXEMBOURG
téléchargez le rapport

SUBJECTIVE WELL-BEING AND STAY-AT-HOME EXPERIENCES OF CHILDREN AGED 6-16 DURING THE FIRST WAVE OF THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC IN LUXEMBOURG
download the report

Children’s life satisfaction dropped significantly from 96% (before the pandemic) to 67% (during the pandemic)

The emotional well-being decreased, particularly among girls, older children and those from lower socioeconomic backgrounds.

Their well-being is mainly related to the difficulty, amount and content of schoolwork during school hours, the fear of getting ill in the pandemic and the satisfaction of how adults listen to children and young people.

Children missed their friends (37%) and family (37%) the most, when schools were closed and they had to stay at home

32% of children said that they were often worried that they or someone close to them would get sick

Children were way less “active” during the pandemic. 46% of secondary school students reported spending a lot of time “doing nothing”. Whereas 86% of primary school children said they often played and 69% often spent time outside, these numbers drop to 35% and 54%, respectively, for adolescents.

Das Projekt COVID Kids

Während der ersten Welle der COVID-19 Pandemie im Frühling 2020 wurde das Forschungsprojekt “COVID-Kids” zum Wohlbefinden von Kindern durchgeführt. Die Studie untersuchte das subjektive Wohlbefinden sowie die täglichen Erfahrungen von Kindern und Jugendlichen im Alter von 6 bis 16 Jahren in Luxemburg, Deutschland, der Schweiz und Brasilien.

Das Forschungsprojekt COVID-Kids verwendete einen Mixed-Methods-Ansatz, bestehend aus einem Fragebogen und Interviews. Der anonyme Fragebogen war vom 6. Mai bis zum 14. Juli 2020 online und wurde von 680 Kindern in verschiedenen Ländern ausgefüllt.

Der Fragebogen konzentrierte sich auf drei Hauptteile:

  1. Allgemeine Informationen zu den Teilnehmern
  2. Leben und Schule vor der Pandemie
  3. Leben und Schule während der Pandemie.

Die Interviews wurden mit 22 Kindern im Alter von 8-16 Jahren in Luxemburg durchgeführt.

Neben den Hauptergebnissen gibt die Studie auch einige Empfehlungen, um das Wohlbefinden der Kinder zu verbessern und langfristige, negative Auswirkungen auf die physische und psychische Gesundheit der jungen Menschen in Zukunft zu minimieren oder sogar ganz zu vermeiden.

BIEN-ÊTRE SUBJECTIF ET EXPÉRIENCES QUOTIDIENNES DES ENFANTS DE 6 À 16 ANS PENDANT LA PREMIÈRE VAGUE DE LA PANDÉMIE COVID-19 AU LUXEMBOURG
téléchargez le rapport

SUBJECTIVE WELL-BEING AND STAY-AT-HOME EXPERIENCES OF CHILDREN AGED 6-16 DURING THE FIRST WAVE OF THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC IN LUXEMBOURG
download the report

Die Lebenszufriedenheit der Kinder sank erheblich von 96% (vor der Pandemie) auf 67% (während der Pandemie).

Das emotionale Wohlbefinden verringerte sich vor allem bei Mädchen, älteren Kindern, sowie bei solchen aus niedrigeren sozioökonomischen Verhältnissen.

Das Wohlbefinden hängt in hohem Maße von der Schwierigkeit, der Menge und dem Inhalt der Schularbeiten während der Schulzeit ab, der Angst in der Pandemie krank zu werden und der Zufriedenheit, wie Erwachsene Kindern und Jugendlichen zuhören.

Die Kinder vermissten ihre Freunde (37%) und ihre Familie (37%) am meisten, als die Schule geschlossen war und sie zuhause bleiben mussten.

32 % der Kinder gaben an, dass sie sich oft Sorgen darüber machen, dass sie oder eine Person, die ihnen nahe steht, in der Pandemie  krank werden könnte.

Kinder waren während der Pandemie viel weniger „aktiv“. 46% der Sekundarschüler gaben an, viel Zeit mit „Nichtstun“ zu verbringen. Gaben 86% der Grundschulkinder an, häufig zu spielen und 69% häufig Zeit draußen zu verbringen, so sinkt dieser Anteil bei Jugendlichen auf 35% bzw. 54%.